Web services providing access to official data for navigating modelled surface currents

Description

Three Web mapping services for surface currents were developed by the Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) in collaboration with the Operational Oceanography scientific team of Fisheries and Oceans Canada and are available under licence. These three services are:

  • A WMS that produces dynamic images of the data according to the specified parameters.
  • A WFS that recovers the raw data behind the images.
  • A WCS that recovers raw data from only the raster layers.

To access these web services, simply follow the steps described in these technical specifications.

Geographic coverage

Web surface current services disseminate the results of various current forecast models. Each model covers a geographic area and produces data based on unique parameters, in particular, the level of detail (spatial and temporal resolution), temporal scope (number of days in the future) and frequency of forecast updates.

The first two models put into operation cover the Gulf of St. Lawrence and the St. Lawrence Estuary. Other models across the country will be added over time.

Gulf of St. Lawrence

The forecasts of surface currents in the Gulf of St. Lawrence are extracted from a three-dimensional ocean model coupled to the Canadian Meteorological Service's atmospheric forecast model (Environment Canada). The ocean model integrates the influence of tides, freshwater runoff, atmospheric forcing, and sea ice. The two models—ocean and atmospheric—provide daily forecasts for the upcoming 48-hour. The ocean model results have been validated within scientific and operational programs of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The validation includes a number of comparisons with various ocean measurements: currents, water levels, water temperature and salinity, and sea-ice drift, concentration and thickness. The model's forcing data include:

  • Tides at Cabot and Belle-Isle straits;
  • Freshwater runoff at Québec City;
  • Atmospheric forecasts from the Global Environmental Multiscale (GEM) model (Canadian Meteorological Centre, Meteorological Service of Canada, Environment Canada), which provide data on winds, air temperature, cloud cover and relative humidity;
  • Sea ice observations integrated into daily charts from the Canadian Ice Service, Environment Canada.

St. Lawrence Estuary, from Trois-Rivières to Cap de Bon-Désir

The surface current forecasts for the St. Lawrence Estuary result from a three-dimensional numerical model. The ocean model integrates tidal influence and mean freshwater runoff from the St. Lawrence River (no influence of the spring freshet) without wind forcing. Model results were validated with a statistically significant series of drifting buoy tracks in calm weather conditions. Tides are responsible for a high percentage of the energy from currents in this region, but the forecasts must be used with caution during intense or extreme wind conditions and in spring freshet conditions.

Access and restrictions

Please take a moment to read through the licence.

Services web donnant accès aux données officielles pour la navigation de courants de surface modélisés

Description

Trois services web de cartographie pour les courants de surface ont été développés par le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) en collaboration avec l'équipe scientifique en océanographie opérationnelle de Pêches et Océans Canada et sont disponibles gratuitement sous licence. Ces trois services sont :

  • Un service WMS qui produit des images des données de façon dynamique selon les paramètres spécifiés.
  • Un service WFS qui permet de récupérer les données brutes derrière les images.
  • Un service WCS qui permet de récupérer les données brutes des couches matricielles seulement.

Afin d’accéder aux services web il suffit de suivre les étapes décrites dans ces spécifications techniques.

Couverture géographique

Les services web de courants de surface diffusent les résultats de différents modèles de prévisions de courants. Chaque modèle couvre une zone géographique distincte et produit des données selon des paramètres qui sont uniques, notamment, le niveau de détail (résolution spatiale et résolution temporel), la portée temporelle (le nombre de jours dans le futur) et la fréquence de renouvellement des prévisions.

Les deux premiers modèles mis en opération couvrent le golfe du Saint-Laurent et l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent. D'autres modèles à travers le pays seront ajoutées au fil du temps.

Golfe du Saint-Laurent

Les prévisions de courants de surface du Saint-Laurent proviennent d'un modèle océanique tridimensionnel couplé au modèle de prévision atmosphérique du Service météorologique du Canada (Environnement Canada). Le modèle océanique intègre l'influence du régime tidal et hydrologique du Saint-Laurent et de ses conditions atmosphériques et glaciaires de surface. Les deux modèles, océanique et atmosphérique, sont opérés chaque jour pour produire des prévisions de 48 heures. Les résultats du modèle océanique ont été validés dans le cadre des programmes scientifiques et opérationnels de Pêches et Océans Canada. La validation comprend plusieurs comparaisons avec des mesures océanographiques diverses : courants, niveaux d'eau, température et salinité de l'eau, dérives des glaces ainsi que leur concentration et leur épaisseur. Les données d'entrée au modèle comprennent :

  • La connaissance de la marée aux détroits de Cabot et de Belle-Isle;
  • Les prévisions de débit d'eau douce à Québec;
  • Les prévisions atmosphériques du modèle Global Environnemental Multiéchelle (GEM ) du Centre météorologique canadien, Service météorologique du Canada, Environnement Canada, qui fournissent le vent, la température de l'air, le couvert nuageux et l'humidité relative; et
  • Les observations de glace, intégrées en cartes quotidiennes du Service canadien des glaces, Environnement Canada.

Estuaire du Saint-Laurent, de Trois-Rivières à Cap de Bon-Désir

Les prévisions des courants de surface de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent proviennent d'un modèle numérique tridimensionnel. Ce modèle océanique fait la synthèse des courants de marée en excluant l'effet des vents et en dehors de la période de crue printanière du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Les résultats du modèle océanique ont été validés par temps calme avec une série statistiquement significative de mesures de bouées dérivantes. Bien que les marées expliquent un haut pourcentage de l'énergie des courants dans ce secteur, les prévisions doivent être utilisées avec réserve dans des conditions de vent intenses ou extrêmes et pendant la crue printanière.

Accès et restrictions

Veuillez prendre le temps de consulter la licence.